The Del Mar City Council and Solana Beach City Council elected their new mayors and deputy mayors for the upcoming year. In both Del Mar and Solana Beach, city councilmembers serve as mayor on a one-year rotating basis, and are elected by majority vote of the council. Ellie Haviland (pictured left) will serve as Mayor of Del Mar, replacing outgoing mayor Dave Druker, and Terry Gaasterland will serve as deputy mayor. Jewel Edson (pictured right) will serve as Mayor of Solana Beach, replacing outgoing mayor David Zito, and Judy Hegenauer will serve as deputy mayor. The electees will serve a one-year term, which began in December 2019 and will conclude in December 2020. For more information go to and